Chiefs finalize initial 53-man roster

Cut day is here, and Brett Veach and company have their work cut out for them with plenty of talent across the board on the roster, but a limit of 53 to be met. Here are the final cuts made by the Chiefs today, as well as the 53-man roster.

Players who were waived/released

OT Jackson Barton, DB Rodney Clemons, LB Omari Cobb, S Adrian Colbert, WR Gehrig Dieter, WR Maurice Ffrench, WR Jody Fortson, LB Darius Harris, TE Daniel Helm, DB Lavert Hill, DT Braxton Hoyett, OG Ryan Hunter, CB Chris Lammons, DT Devaroe Lawrence, WR Kalija Lipscomb, RB Elijah McGuire, QB Matt Moore, OT Greg Senat, WR Justice Shelton-Mosley, DE Breeland Speaks, QB Jordan Ta’amu, DE Tim Ward, RB DeAndre Washington, and OL Darryl Williams.

Marcus Kemp made the roster as WR6, along with Tedric Thompson and Mike Danna, according to Nate Taylor.

Nick Keizer also made the 53-man roster after a strong camp, according to Sam McDowell.

Herbie Teope reports the Chiefs plan on bringing Matt Moore back to the practice squad, and the Chiefs will go into week 1 with only two QBs in Patrick Mahomes and Chad Henne.

Other notable cuts include 2018 second-round pick Breeland Speaks and recently signed RB DeAndre Washington.

Martinas Rankin was placed on the physically unable to perform list.

53-man Roster

QB (2)

Patrick Mahomes

Chad Henne

HB (4)

Clyde Edwards-Helaire

Darrel Williams

Darwin Thompson

Anthony Sherman

WR (6)

Tyreek Hill

Sammy Watkins

Mecole Hardman

Demarcus Robinson

Byron Pringle

Marcus Kemp

TE (4)

Travis Kelce

Nick Keizer

Ricky Seals-Jones

Deon Yelder

OL (9)

Eric Fisher

Kelechi Osemele

Austin Reiter

Andrew Wylie

Mitchell Schwartz

Mike Remmers

Nick Alegretti

Daniel Kilgore

Yasir Durant

DL (10)

Frank Clark

Chris Jones

Khalen Saunders

Derrick Nnadi

Taco Charlton

Tanoh Kpassagnon

Alex Okafor

Demone Harris

Mike Danna

Tershawn Wharton

LB (5)

Anthony Hitchens

Damien Wilson

Willie Gay Jr.

Ben Niemann

Dorian O’Daniel

CB (5)

Charvarius Ward

Rashad Fenton

L’Jarius Sneed

Bopete Keyes

Antonio Hamilton

S (5)

Tyrann Mathieu

Juan Thornhill

Daniel Sorenson

Tedric Thompson

Armani Watts

Specialists (3)

Harrison Butker

Tommy Townsend

James Winchester


Bashaud Breeland

Mike Pennel

With initial rosters now finalized, the NFL season is now just a handful of days away. The Chiefs kickoff at home against Deshaun Watson and the Texans in a Divisional Round rematch Thursday Night at 7:20 p.m. CT.

We made it folks.